Stop When You See "STOP"
The new school year is here! As we begin a new school year, it is a perfect opportunity to remind everyone of the rules when it comes to school busses as they transport our most precious commodity, our children. Especially during the first few weeks of school as
kids navigate new routes to school and become familiar with new surroundings, please remain extra vigilant for school busses and crosswalks!
It should go without saying however please know that the inconvenience of an extra few seconds spent waiting for a stopped school bus is insignificant compared to the loss of a child’s life.
Did You Know
In a 180-day schoolyear, it is estimated that there are almost two million illegal “passes” of Florida school buses, each representing the possibility of tragic injuries or fatalities to students.
Florida Motor Vehicle Laws require that motorists stop upon approaching any school
bus which displays its flashing red lights and has its stop signs extended. The penalty
for failure to stop for a school bus is $200 and if a second offense is committed in 5 years, the
person’s license will be suspended for up to 1 year. The penalty for passing a school bus on
the side that children enter and exit when the school bus displays a stop signal is $400 and if
a second offense is committed in 5 years, the person’s license can be suspended for up to 2